summerdemo.blogg.se

Owc usb mini hard drive for mac
Owc usb mini hard drive for mac










owc usb mini hard drive for mac

I cannot, for the life of me, remember exactly when I upgraded to Catalina. I use Carbon Copy Cloner to create a (clone) bootable backup of my primary HD each night. įunny that you should mention this! I’ve been having an issue with an external drive (USB), connected to my iMac (27-inch, Late 2013), currently running Catalina 10.15.4. OWC has documented a hang in large writes to external drives in 10.15.4, and verified that it is fixed in 10.15.5 beta 3. That fixes the crash issue, but I’m not certain how the thermal or mechanical stresses of spinning down and up the next morning compare with spinning overnight for the HDDs, in particular, the ~ 4.5-year old Toshiba 2 Tbyte drive. I’ve started unmounting all three volumes before sleeping the system for night. Since 10.15.4, however, the system will crash overnight without any reference to that drive as long as any external drive is spun up. Unfortunately, it’s a very early model with an incompatibility with the Samsung EVO 860 SSD, and occasionally, the system crashes overnight.

owc usb mini hard drive for mac

I have three external volumes (2 x HDD, one SSD) in an OWC ThunderBay (4 bay, Thunderbolt 3). The OS is supposed to be smart enough to perform those jobs while “sleeping.” I know I have a cron job that performs a sync on a critical folder tree in the middle of the night as well. I believe macOS still performs a lot of nightly cleanup tasks at ~ 02:00 local time (for instance).












Owc usb mini hard drive for mac